CogAT aptitude test practice

Welcome to our CogAT test practice.

CogAT test practice

Cognitive assessment (CogAT) tests are primarily done to check three skills of the students: their verbal skills, quantitative skills (which includes all kinds of sums and calculations), and their non-verbal skills.

There are many online portals where students can take these tests. The test also determines if the children possess any other special talents. The test is done by many schools and can be taken independently from the comfort of the home without the supervision of teachers. United States-based schools primarily use this method for testing students who are between grades K and 12.

The test determines the reasoning abilities of a child and compares his or her progress to children of the same age and group. The students are provided with a certain grade and this will determine how the teachers prepare the students for learning. If a student does not score well in the CogAT examination, he or she might be prepared in a different way for further academic courses and extra attention may be given to him or her by the teachers.

What are the different levels of CogAT tests?

There are 14 levels of tests and each is suitable for a different grade of student. The test materials are different for different levels. For example, a grade 4 student will never get the same questions as a level 9 student. Here, the levels reflect the ages. So, level 5 means the child is 5 years old. The first level of the test is for age 5 or 6, which is kindergarten level. The child appearing for the kindergarten-level test will thus be at least 5 or 6 years old and no more than 6 years old. If the child is older than 6, then he or she will have to take a more advanced test. As the level progresses, the time provided in the examinations is reduced and the students get more advanced questions. The 11th level test is the most difficult one with 176 questions. The pass mark is 90 and the students are assessed on different levels of cognitive ability.

The tests are not designed to assess what the child has learned. Rather, students are judged on the basis of the knowledge they have at the time of answering the questions. There is no syllabus-specific question and if a child is comfortable with more cognitive skills then they will perform better in the test. Most of the time, the students who do very well on these tests are considered gifted. Experts, however, have disagreed with this. According to them, every child is gifted, but in different areas. Thus, one test cannot determine how well a student will do in the future. Nonetheless, predictive data on a student’s progress and how far they can achieve can be determined from this test.

CogAT test practice question formats

The students have to identify how two different pictures or concepts are related. This will use images or words or both and the level of explanation in the question will depend on the level of the test the child is taking. This section will consist of 14 questions and the child will get no more than 15 minutes to answer this section.

The questions might take the following form. A calf is to a cow what a foal is to a ____; the options will be sheep, horse, goat and pig. The child will have to select one of these four and proceed to the next section.

In the non-verbal part, there are:

  • Figure classifications.
  • Here the relationship between the different figures is needed.
  • 3 figures followed by a 4th in the answer section.
  • Ten minutes to answer 14 questions.
  • You need to work out the similarity.